facebook twitter twitter

Sarah L. | Houston, Texas

October 1 2017 Bark busters rating

We contacted Bark Busters after our three dogs had turned into a pack and we were struggling to get back control. Donna came out twice and the results have been incredible. We worked on leash walking, doorbells/answering the doors, and commands. We went from having to crack the door open for visitors to being able to open the doors while the dogs wait in the living room. Our walks are infinitely better, and my husband and I feel like we have control again. Donna is willing to answer any and all questions and had great suggestions for any of our issues. We have and will continue to recommend her to any friends looking for a trainer.

aggressionbarkingjumping uppulling on lead

Linda B. | Houston, Texas

August 9 2017 Bark busters rating

My husband and I recently adopted a rescue puppy. We needed help with basic household manners and commands. Cooper stays in the city during the week but goes with us to the country on weekends. The training we needed was everything from housebreaking, no jumping up, walking easily on a leash, getting in and out of a car, come when called - to teaching Cooper how to comfortably ride in a ranch mule.

I called Donna and she has been great! There was an immediate improvement in Cooper's manners after just one session. We have met a couple of times and Donna has shown me how to work with Cooper on all of the issues that concern us. Her methods are gentle, not scary to Cooper, and they work!! I look forward to a continuing relationship with Donna - and through her methods having a well trained, wonderful family dog! Cooper and I both love and respond well to her system! So glad I called Donna!

jumping uppulling on leadpuppy trainingother

Latoisha L. | Houston, Texas

July 21 2017 Bark busters rating

Donna Smith was very helpful for the training and behavioral issues we were experiencing. Within 20 minutes of our first session, my dog was calm and receptive to the training methods she introduced. We were given easy to follow techniques and instructions that have made a significant different in our everyday lives. She is always readily available via email and telephone to answer any questions or concerns that may arise. Thank you so much Donna for all of your help and support!

barkinghyperactivitypulling on leadtoileting

Tom H. | Houston, Texas

July 20 2017 Bark busters rating

Donna really helped us find how to meet Phoebe's (and our) needs. She is much less frightened and barks at neighbors less frequently. I recommend Donna for your training needs.

aggressionbarkingjumping up

Colleen R. | Houston, Texas

July 15 2017 Bark busters rating

The training and trainer, Donna Smith, were excellent. It was a real eye opener about really understanding my dogs and learning simple techniques that helped me to communicate with my dogs. I would recommend this training to anyone without hesitation.

Now, it is up to me to carry through what I have learned. It truly works.

barkingchewingdigginghyperactivityjumping uprecallrivalryseparation anxietypuppy training
14772-1498943176.jpg

Paige A. | Houston, Texas

July 2 2017 Bark busters rating

Training by Donna of Bark Busters was excellent! Our dogs were already obedient to the commands we had taught them, but they struggled with anxiety, pacing, and excessive nudging for our attention. One was crate possessive, both were people possessive, often aggressive towards each other.

Twenty minutes into the first training Donna had taught us enough to see change in both dogs' attitudes, and by the end of that session all those troublesome behaviors were corrected. Now they are calm, easy with each other, and even when I answer the door they wait calmly for me to answer and let guests enter. Our house is completely changed, and we are deeply grateful to Donna and Bark Busters.

aggressionbarkingjumping uppulling on leadrivalry
14733-1498147164.jpg

Pamela M. | Houston, Texas

June 23 2017 Bark busters rating

Donna is a miracle worker! We knew our rescue dog Max had the potential to be a good dog, but we had trouble learning how to get there until we met Donna. In a few short hours she taught us how to better communicate with our dog to create a more positive relationship and regain some control and calm to our house! We really appreciate the ongoing support and couldn't be happier that we found her and her wonderful and effective approach to dog training.

barkingchewinghyperactivityjumping uptoileting
14665-1496844955.jpg

Ashley B. | Houston, Texas

June 8 2017 Bark busters rating

Donna gives such great direction with my dog, Lizzie. Before getting dog training, I was frustrated and angry with Lizzie. I decided to use Bark Busters because I read their website and believe in the methods they use. After my first training, I saw such a huge difference in Lizzie's behavior. She was able to understand what I wanted to communicate to her. I checked in with Donna a week later to give her an update on how Lizzie was doing and she gave me further pointers on how to correct any of Lizzie's bad behaviors. After my second training, where we worked on recall training, I instantly saw a difference in how Lizzie and I interacted out in a large, open space. It's the little changes that make a big difference and Donna is great at teaching me how to implement it. Donna makes herself available via text or phone at almost any time of the day. I'm looking forward to my last lesson with Donna. The great thing about Bark Busters is that Donna will still be available to me via phone or text after our last lesson together. I would highly recommend Bark Busters to anyone looking for personal dog training, one-on-one, and in your home. Donna knows the in's and out's of dog training and is such a great teacher.

aggressionjumping uppulling on leadrecall

Dolores T. | Houston, Texas

June 4 2017 Bark busters rating

I really was surprised as to how quick the training started to work.

Donna Smith was so nice and easy to work with, I feel like I have a new friend and my dogs were very comfortable with her.

aggression

Aimee M. | Houston, Texas

June 3 2017 Bark busters rating

We contacted Bark Busters shortly after adopting our 2.5 year old, Mia. Although Mia is sweet, she needed to learn a lot of manners in and out of the house. Donna gave us tips to begin correcting her indoor behaviors immediately and helped us develop a plan for her outdoor leash pulling and aggression. Donna is so patient and taught us how to calmly and effectively communicate with Mia. We have been using these techniques with her and noticed a dramatic difference with her obedience in our home. We highly recommend Donna and the Bark Busters program as she has helped us interact better with our pup!

aggressionjumping uppulling on leadother

Lily C. | Pasadena, Texas

April 22 2017 Bark busters rating

It's challenging to train 2 GSD-mix 4 month old puppies, but Donna gave me useful pointers in training these high energy pups. Each day with the pups brings new discoveries, challenges and joys. I'm glad I have Bark Busters and Donna to consult when I don't have the training knowledge I need. Thanks, Donna!

toiletingpuppy trainingother

Mary W. | Houston, Texas

April 22 2017 Bark busters rating

Donna is absolutely brilliant with dogs! We have 2 young Boxers who are lovable and friendly creatures, but they really need to learn better manners. Our concerns were mainly to stop them from jumping on people and to teach them not to go near the door when someone rings the doorbell. On our very first lesson, Donna showed us some techniques that worked right away! We are now working on better manners while walking on a leash, particularly not to pull or jump around in excitement. In just one lesson we learned some simple yet very effective ways to accomplish our goals. We have learned the key is establishing yourself as leader, using proper body language, eye contact and tone of voice as well as staying consistent are the keys to successfully communicating with our dogs. We also love the fact that, there is no harsh punishment or negative techniques used at all. Donna is so patient, friendly and knowledgeable and I would highly recommend her to anyone who wants a better relationship with their fur babies. Bravo, Donna!

hyperactivityjumping uppulling on leadrecallother

Angela D. | Houston, Texas

February 17 2017 Bark busters rating

Harry Potter was new to our home & had problems with resource guarding. Donna was great and worked with us to help us all adjust to people & activity in our home & neighborhood.

aggressionbarking
14053-1481558209.jpg

Ashley S. | Houston, Texas

December 13 2016 Bark busters rating

Donna has been wonderful to work with. She's very patient with our dog (and us) and has given us so many helpful tips. It's great having her come to our house, so our dog is comfortable in her own environment. It's obvious how passionate Donna is about dogs and her job. We are so grateful we started using BarkBusters.

barkingjumping up

Julia B. | Houston, Texas

September 25 2016 Bark busters rating

Donna is so knowledgable about training dogs. Her kind demeanor and patience make her the perfect go to for any dog training or issues with your pet. I highly recommend her!

recallpuppy training

Brenan B. | Houston, Texas

August 11 2016 Bark busters rating

Donna was a wonderful help with training our 6 month old puppy. We just need help with the basics of training and she helped us get him on the path to being a well trained puppy.

toiletingpuppy training

Jessica B. | Houston, Texas

August 8 2016 Bark busters rating

My dog, Atticus, is a pit bull so I knew I wanted and needed to get him trained. I went to a more aversive-based dog training prior to Bark Busters and found that it only negatively affected Atticus by making him scared and jumpy without deterring the behaviors I found problematic. Further, I was discouraged from taking my dog outside, even on walks. With Bark Busters, Atticus has become a more confident dog and my relationship with him has grown in many positive ways. We were also encouraged and empowered with training to go on walks and public outings.

hyperactivityjumping up
13563-1470522889.jpeg

Shannon B. | Spring, Texas

August 7 2016 Bark busters rating

Donna was fantastic with Bentley. She helped give me guidance on techniques to use with Bentley. They have worked very well since our training session!

chewing
13449-1469043292.jpg

Kyle S. | Houston, Texas

July 21 2016 Bark busters rating

Donna is the greatest!!! Bark Busters was recommended by my vet and I have not been disappointed. Donna has worked with my 3 dogs ages 2 years to 14 years. My focus for training was to teach them not to bark and not to jump up on people. The training has been very successful and I am very pleased with the progress that has been made. Donna is extremely proficient. She is very nice, patient and easy to work with. Bark Busters is the only training program that I have found that really works. I might also add that you do need to follow Donna's guidelines and work with your dog on the desired behaviors. I would highly recommend this program!

barkinghyperactivityjumping uppuppy training

Marc L. | Houston, Texas

June 26 2016 Bark busters rating

After talking with a few trainers we decided to try out Bark Busters. I didn't expect much but we had to keep our pups from jumping on people when they came over to visit. We are also first time dog owners. Donna came over to help out. After the first lesson I couldn't believe that our dogs no longer jumped on people and we learned how to command respect from our dogs. Donna was great to work with and I refer her to anybody that asks. She has also helped us with walking our dogs as well as given us the tools to continue training our dogs. This has been a great experience.

jumping uppulling on lead

Tracie M. | Baytown, Texas

June 23 2016 Bark busters rating

Donna was extremely helpful and knowledgeable about the behavior issues my dog was portraying. I was very impressed with her skill level and would highly recommend her.

aggression

Eva P. | Houston, Texas

August 14 2015 Bark busters rating

Donna was an excellent trainer. Calm and patient with both Mosby and I. When we started Mosby's training I had puppy marks up and down my arms and legs. What I learned was that Mosby's behavior was as much my fault as his. My body language, tone of voice and demeanor were all wrong. I have my homework ahead of me but now have the tools to refer to. I feel "bah" has become my life saver. Even though I may appear strange to my neighbors. I can't thank Donna and Bark Busters enough and will gladly recommend to friends and family. Mosby will be my shining example of a well behaved dog.

aggressionbarkingchewinghyperactivityjumping uppuppy training

Jill L. | Houston, Texas

June 15 2015 Bark busters rating

I am very impressed with the improvement my dogs have shown after one session with Donna. She really worked some magic. A large part was that we needed to establish who was in charge, which she showed us how to do without any need to frighten, intimidate, or hurt the animals. I think Teddie the Corgi used to be the leader of the family pack: but he wasn't really happy in that role, and seems more secure now. He's a smart dog who needed leadership, as Donna explained. Hugo also is learning to come when called, and that's a big step forward. We are very happy with the training so far. Tried another group last year and quit after one session even thought that meant giving up a considerable sum of money because I didn't like the approach of the trainer, either to me or the dogs. The difference between that experience and working with Donna is amazing. She's knowledgeable, professional, fun, and gets results.

barkingjumping uppulling on leadother

Angela S. | Houston, Texas

May 31 2015 Bark busters rating

It has been a pleasure working with Donna to train my new rescue dog. First of all, she was very prompt in calling me to schedule appointments and explained the training process to me. She taught my dog to sit and wait for his food, not scratch at the backdoor and walk beside me when on walks instead of pulling the leash and "walking me". I recommend Donna's training! She is so easy to work with and listens carefully to your needs. Thank you Donna for making our house a more peaceful place and training me to be a better dog owner.

jumping uppulling on leadrivalrypuppy training
10052-1404690729.jpg

Stacie B. | Humble, Texas

July 7 2014 Bark busters rating

Donna did wonders with our three pups! Before training my in-laws were literally afraid of our two larger dogs: when they would show up to feed/take care of them when my husband and I were on vacation they would bark, jump on the door and act very aggressive. The dogs never bit or attacked them but they sure acted like they were going to, which understandably frightened them... and us considering we are thinking about starting a family soon.

In preparation for a week-long trip, we contacted Bark Busters for help so our in-laws, our pups, my husband and I would all be ready. Upon arrival we noticed something different, Donna very quickly educated us on how a lot of the things we were doing were making the dogs even more uncomfortable with people and therefore the situation worse... oops. After the initial wake-up call though, she was able to show us little SIMPLE things we could do to improve the way we introduced people to them. After the first lesson we saw enormous improvement and at the completion of the third session it was like we had new dogs! From patiently waiting at the garage door and not barking when we let people in the front door, to feeding them without jumping all over us, to having my in-laws come over and being able to love on their furry grandchildren (something none of us dreamed would be possible!)... Bark Busters did wonders for our family.

My husband and I feel confident in being able to start a family in the near future and how to effectively interact with our dogs, what a blessing. We took away a lot of very useful information that can be applied to any future pets we may own, but if we ever encounter something new, we know the first people we are going to call for advice and guidance. Thanks Donna and Bark Busters for everything!

aggressionhyperactivityjumping uppulling on leadrivalryother
10009-1403099981.jpg

Margaret M. | Deer Park, Texas

June 18 2014 Bark busters rating

When I called Bark Busters, I wanted help in getting 2 young very hyper labradoodles to listen better and respect boundaries. Donna Smith made a huge difference, even after one visit, in training me to teach my dogs those boundaries. Teddy and Ellee now respect the doorbell and wait to be released to greet people. They no longer jump on everyone, and I and my children do not get pulled down the street on every walk. Ellee is no longer aggressive with Teddy because she sees me as the pack leader. I really loved how Donna involved my 10 year old daughter in the training and made her feel so important in the process. I would recommend her to anyone.

aggressionbarkinghyperactivityjumping uppulling on leadrivalry

JULIE R. | HOUSTON, Texas

May 11 2014 Bark busters rating

Donna is an excellent trainer. She has helped me with behavioral issues with an older dog, and now puppy training basics with a new puppy. She is patient, comprehensive, provides great tips and techniques, and advises on everything in a priority order. I would strongly recommend her to anyone...

chewingjumping uptoiletingpuppy training

T R. | Houston, Texas

April 26 2014 Bark busters rating

Donna at Bark Busters did a fantastic job and we saw immediate improvement and responsiveness from our dog who is still well into the puppy stage! We worked on a number of things from the very start including jumping on people, staying away from the door when guests arrive, barking at the yard man, walking on leash. Even our dog seems to appreciate the better communication we now have, and we have a better understanding of how to convey what we want him to do. I highly recommend Donna. Her approach is fast and effective and has had a lasting positive impact.

jumping uppulling on lead
9781-1398280493.jpg

Priscilla R. | Houston, Texas

April 23 2014 Bark busters rating

We saw Donna today for our 12 wk old German Shepherd and 7 month old English Bulldog. She was great from the moment she walked in to our home. Our pups jumped all over her and she quickly corrected them. We saw improvements within the first 15 min of her being here. This is our first time working with Donna, but our second time with bark Busters. Both of the trainers we have worked with are amazing and are extremely knowledgeable. The price for in home training is also very affordable with them. Best decision we could have everade for our pets is calling Bark Busters.

hyperactivityjumping uprivalryseparation anxietypuppy training
9732-1397427438.jpg

Julia D. | Houston, Texas

April 13 2014 Bark busters rating

I asked Donna to help me with my dog Roy. I have never had a dog before, and after getting a rescue who was generally well behaved, I still felt like I needed some guidance about how to walk with him and assert myself as pack leader. All of the guidance Donna has given me made sense, and was explained to me in a thoughtful and respectful way. Roy responded really well during the training session with Donna, and during our subsequent practice sessions. I saw a really nice gradual, steady improvement with Roy within a matter of a couple days of practice. While he still has some bad days, he's not pulling me nearly as much, and every day I see an improvement. I recommend Donna for not just the big problems, but the little ones as well. As a doting new dog mom, I needed someone there who could answer all of my questions, and teach my dog in a respectful, easy to understand, and natural way that just made sense. Donna did just that!

pulling on lead